03
Mar
14

Dazed and Confused (1993)

When I was younger, I enjoyed Dazed and Confused just as much as the next kid. I remember excitedly watching it on cable, and when my mother asked me what it was about I said something along the lines of: “You know, high school kids drinking and smoking dope and hanging out!” She responded: “Oh, jeez. Great. What would you want to watch that for?”

Allright allright

Allright allright

Valid question, mom. After watching it as an adult, I’m not sure I have an answer. And I don’t know if I had an answer back then, either, except the attraction to someone else’s 70’s nostalgia. My high school experience was absolutely, positively nothing like the experience depicted in this film (thank gods), and even when I was in the midst of the high school doldrums, I knew my experience would never turn out to be anything like it. So, it’s not as if I identified with these characters, really. Does that mean it’s some kind of weird voyeurism that attracted me to it then, and even now? Or maybe the desire to live vicariously through these kids during a very specific time and place in America; a setting I’ll never experience first-hand?

I'd sit in that chair!

I’d sit in that chair!

It is probably a little bit of both. Perhaps when I was younger, I imagined this is how all the cool kids in school were living their lives and I thought Dazed and Confused was the only window I’d have into all the fun and games. And now I most certainly would time-travel to 1976, even if it would put me back in high school. The hair. The clothes. The music. Yes!

Even though I don’t identify with any of these characters, they are almost all lovable. I care about what happens to them. I enjoy watching them make mistakes. And who would have guessed the guy that played David Wooderson would go on to win an Oscar 20 years later? It may not be the deepest flick out there; it’s not going to make you ponder life, death and the afterworld, but it is really fucking enjoyable.

1 Response to “Dazed and Confused (1993)”


  1. March 8, 2014 at 8:06 am

    This post reminds me of how delightful “Dazed and Confused” is. I remember not being able to wrap my brain around the concept of Lucas from “Empire Records” as a stoner. Time to revisit – thank you, Schlock Wave!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


