30
Nov
13

Something Wicked This Way Comes (1983)

SomethingWickedPosterI can’t help but think Something Wicked This Way Comes would have been more appealing to me if folks would have kept their dirty mitts off of Ray Bradbury’s original screenplay. Unfortunately, they didn’t, and in a move to make the film more “family-friendly” probably removed all of its truly terrifying teeth.

I might as well just say, right off the bat, I didn’t really care for this. I wasn’t going to even write a post about it. But skipping flicks is a slippery slope, and seeing as how I’m about fifteen movies behind right now, I know if I skipped this one, I’d skip three, four, ten? So, forgive me if this isn’t the most interesting, insightful or, errrrr, worthwhile post you’ve ever read.

Will Halloway and Jim Nightshade are the best of friends (well, supposedly, but personally I think Nightshade’s kind of a jerky brat) and they’re super pumped when they find out a carnival is coming to town. Unfortunately for them, and for all of Greentown, IL, Mr. Dark’s Pandemonium Carnival isn’t your average circus. While Mr. Dark (Jonathan Pryce) and his cohorts’ offers are pretty tempting, they are, of course, too good to be true. Seems Mr. Dark and the Dust Witch (Pam Grier) will grant your wish allright, but at the cost of your soul.

There are some spooky moments, but I just couldn’t get into this one. I was pretty bored to start, and I gotta say the score was pretty irritating. All the men I’ve talked to who were kids when this came out seem to love this movie. I must conclude that this is a movie for young boys!

1 Response to “Something Wicked This Way Comes (1983)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    December 16, 2013 at 10:18 am

    Hurray for avoiding the slippery slope and not skipping movie reviews! More Schlock Wave! More Schlock Wave!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


