29
Oct
13

Xanadu (1980)

Believe it or not, I hadn’t seen Xanadu until very, very recently. Call me crazy, but a roller-skating musical staring Olivia Newton-John and Gene Kelly wasn’t actually too high up on my list of stuff to watch. What’s amazing is that I made it through my entire childhood without seeing it. Maybe it’s because my parents hated Mary Poppins so much, they knew to stay away from this one?

They're alive.

They’re alive.

Anyway, ONJ plays a muse. She and her sisters are brought to life from graffiti in an alleyway and she stumbles into a love affair with the guy that stars in The Warriors. He’s a compromised artist who is tired of painting someone else’s vision. ONJ convinces him to start a roller-rink with Gene Kelly, a guy he just met like, yesterday, and everything is awesome, except she has to get back home because Zeus isn’t the most understanding father.

Everyone twinkles.

Everyone twinkles.

I thought there’d be more sparkles; Xanadu offers more of a twinkle-factor. I wanted more ELO. I firmly believe All Over the World is one of the greatest songs ever composed. Xanadu just isn’t as good as the song had me hope! I can only imagine my thoughts would be different if I’d seen this when I was a kid.

1 Response to “Xanadu (1980)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    November 5, 2013 at 9:14 am

    1980—what a year!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


