06
Oct
13

Bad Influence (1990)

I mean, Rob Lowe can have cookies in milk in my apartment *any time*

I mean, Rob Lowe can have cookies in milk in my apartment *any time*

Personally, I thought Bad Influence was a strange pick to begin with: a crime/drama/thriller starring Rob Lowe and James Spader isn’t normally what we have on the agenda for fun movie nights. I think Q’s main reason for showing me this film may have been to find out how long it would take for me to figure out what other story it resembles…

I think it was about twenty minutes in that I realized what Q was getting at. This is proto-Fight Club stuff, only everyone is actually real here. Spader plays Michael, a successful but weak young professional. He’s up for a big promotion, and there’s one other guy who offers stiff

Dude is demented, but I don't know why.

Dude is demented, but I don’t know why.

competition. He screws with Michael, but Michael doesn’t, or can’t, muster up the gumption to do anything about it. That is until he meets Alex (Lowe), a bold ne’er-do-well who saves Michael from a bar fight.

Alex preys on Michael’s weakness, and insinuates himself into Michael’s life deeper and deeper every day, testing Michael’s resolve and pushing him to do dangerous things. He encourages Michael to sleep with that pretty woman, despite the fact that Michael should be spending time with his fiancee. He makes him drink a lot and rob restaurants. He makes him beat up

See what I mean? '90s.

See what I mean? ’90s.

colleagues; or does he?

This movie is ridiculous, and in the end when Alex’s motive for screwing with Michael in such a profound ways is revealed, I definitely don’t buy it. However, it’s still enjoyable, and so hilariously ’90s you’ll feel as though you could turn the television on afterwards and catch the latest Beverly Hills, 90210 episode. The hair is stiff and high, shoulder pads exist, pants are pleated, shirts are silk and eye-glasses are small and round. Takes me back to high school. Cringe.

2 Responses to “Bad Influence (1990)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    October 7, 2013 at 4:35 pm

    You had me at Rob Lowe.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


