19
Sep
13

Omen III: The Final Conflict (1981)

omeniiiposterThe Netflix queue giveth and the Netflix queue taketh away, so when we saw Omen III: The Final Conflict only had two days left on instant, we snatched it up like starving waifs. I’m fairly certain I wasn’t aware that Sam Neill was in it until I committed to watching it, and of course this prompted me to ask the eternal question: “Why is Sam Neill in everything?”

Well, I don’t know the answer to that question, and I fear it shall plague me for the rest of my life. What I do know is that Neill is pretty darn good at playing the devil’s spawn. Yes, Damien Thorn is back, fully grown and ready to take over the world! The stars are aligned (literally) for the second coming of Christ, but the child won’t live if Mr. Thorn and his weird group of followers have anything to do with it.

See, Damien Thorn is a lot more than just the spawn of satan, he’s also a powerful politician who’s just been granted the position of ambassador to Great Britain. There, he convinces scores of people to hunt and kill any male child born at the particular time when three stars aligned; after all, it’s the only way to ensure the Christ child does not survive. With the savior out of the way, Damien Thorn will rule the world!

But the Christ child isn’t the only thing Thorn has to worry about: a ragtag group of priests are hot on Damien’s tail, ready to stab him with blessed daggers that are the only weapon that can kill him. Can the priests get to Damien before he and his disciples murder the Christ child and plunge the world into eternal darkness?

Well, so, this movie’s a thing. A thing with Sam Neill in it. It’s okay; fairly creepy in certain parts (I mean, come on, we’re talking about Sam Neill here) but it’s nothing special. Oh yeah, and it’s not the Final Conflict, either, because Damien’s legacy lives on in Omen IV: The Awakening. Given everything I’ve said about this movie’s mediocrity, if you asked me if I’d watch the fourth installment in the franchise, sadly the answer would still be yes. I’m a glutton for punishment in the form of crappy horror, what can I say?

0 Responses to “Omen III: The Final Conflict (1981)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


