24
Jun
13

Guns, Girls and Gambling (2011)

gcubedGuns, Girls and Gambling is one of the more baffling movies I’ve watched in my day. Watching it, I felt like we were back in 1996, but looking at some of the stars (Christian Slater, Gary Oldman) it was very clear indeed this movie was more recent than that.

I hate to do this again, but when the A.V. Club does such a damn good job summing up my thoughts, it’s hard for me not to just link to their article and call it a day. If that article’s too long for you, let me paraphrase: aren’t we were done making Tarantino rip-offs? Apparently, I’m not the only one that was baffled by this movie. I had somewhat high hopes for a movie that showcased Gary Oldman, one of my all-time favorites (and long-time crushes) as an Elvis impersonator. Though it delivered some chuckles, it just wasn’t very good. And it was kind of pointless. Why? Why make another movie like this?

Though in the end this movie is pretty much a misguided retelling of the old Cowboys vs. Indians thing (“You stole my mask!” “No, you stole my mask!” “No wait, it’s mine, I’m white!”), I will say I appreciated its focus on the repatriation of the prized object. But that doesn’t make it good.

1 Response to “Guns, Girls and Gambling (2011)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    June 25, 2013 at 5:31 am

    I read Schlock Wave, not the AV Club.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


