30
Apr
13

The Innkeepers (2011)

InnkeepersPosterI like horror movies. All kinds of horror movies: psychological-thriller types, guts-n-gore types, David-Cronenberg types, silly b-movie horror, slashers, creepsters, pinheads. You name it, I’ll watch it. Friends even consider it a triumph when I gag at something disgusting on the screen. That being said, The Innkeepers exposed my one, true horror weakness. The one aspect of horror movies that turns me into a three-year old little girl hiding under the covers: ghosts. I don’t know what it is. It’s not even that I necessarily believe in ghosts, but something about them scares the bejeezus out of me.

I'll be damned, she *has* lost that lovin' feeling.

I’ll be damned, she *has* lost that lovin’ feeling.

The Innkeepers is, as you might have guessed, a movie about a haunted hotel. The Yankee Pedlar hotel has seen better days, and this is its last weekend running. The two remaining employees, Claire and Luke, are out to prove the place is haunted for real, Ghost Hunters style. Considering there are only three occupied rooms, this should be a piece of cake. Lucky for Claire, one of the guests is a former actress turned psychic healer named Leanne (Kelly McGillis)

Claire's going to catch the ghost on tape, she just *knows* it.

Claire’s going to catch the ghost on tape, she just *knows* it.

who offers her help in communicating with the supposed ghosts. Unluckily for Claire, Leanne’s magic crystal does not see good things. She warns Claire not to go into the basement. What does Claire do?

Come on. She goes into the basement.

I know, it sounds like a pretty standard ghost flick, but there are some interesting things going on here. Beyond being simply entertaining to watch, which it is, it’s also an examination of the power of faith and fear. If we believe anything enough, does it have the power to cure us? If we fear anything enough, does it have the power to destroy us? The conclusions are yours to draw, but I’ll tell you I felt like a damn fool being so scared at the end of it! Thing is, I know I’d still be scared the second time around.

2 Responses to “The Innkeepers (2011)”


  1. May 1, 2013 at 11:55 am

    Nice write up. This is definitely a scary movie. They did a great job with the atmosphere and the ghosts. The build-up and payoff at the end was perfect. Ti West is one of my favorite new horror directors.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


