19
Apr
13

Last Year at Marienbad (1961)

Some dudes playing chess.

Some dudes playing chess.

Watching Last Year at Marienbad felt like work. Or, perhaps more accurately, an internship. You know, work you don’t get paid for.

The film is gorgeous. Every shot is beautiful. Really. I can’t help but think that it would be more entertaining to watch this movie on mute with, oh, I don’t know, Dark Side of the Moon playing in the background.

Maybe I’ll give that a try.

Some dudes playing some other game.

Some dudes playing some other game.

The story may or may not go like this: this guy met this woman at this hotel last year. Maybe even a few years ago. Or maybe that didn’t happen. Either way, he’s going to tell you about it. Over and over again. She may or may not believe him. He may or may not believe it himself. She may or may not leave with him at the end of this weekend, like she might have promised she would last year, maybe.

I love the idea of this film. I love unreliable narrators. I love the question of memory; the idea that what we think might have happened isn’t necessarily what others believe to have happened… perhaps it didn’t happen at all! This is some of the

I mean, it *does* look good...

I mean, it *does* look good…

stuff the movie’s going for. The problem is, it’s incredibly arduous to get through. Despite the beauty of the film itself, it is very trying to watch. I think I started itching, my feet started tapping, my thumbs were twiddling. Bottom line is: nothing fucking happens. In theory, I like this movie. I want to like this movie. But I don’t. I can’t. I do, however, recommend this for serious movie geeks; I think you nerds will get something out of it!

2 Responses to “Last Year at Marienbad (1961)”


  1. May 1, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    Hmm…. I loved this one. I loved how each couple or grouping was separate from the others and how you get feeling that the same types of conversations are being played out over and over again…. Strangely haunting. And, of course, due to the fact that it’s New Wave Resnais is playing with the audience in so many occasions… The music, what we actually hear not meshing with the scene, etc. But yes, very experimental and slightly difficult to watch. But, I recommend Resnais’ Muriel and Resnais’ Hiroshima Mon Amour — both are great as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


