13
Apr
13

Breakfast of Aliens (1983)

Pizza's here!

Pizza’s here!

To be honest with you, dear reader, I have no idea how I ended up with Breakfast of Aliens in my Netflix queue. I knew nothing about it when I added it; it must have been during one of my indiscriminate queue-building sprees. Despite the fact that I’d put a different movie in the #1 slot, it still showed up in my mailbox (damn you, Long Wait!). 

Breakfast of Aliens is Troma-esque in the least-offensive sense of the word, but that doesn’t do any good. It’s low-budget, gross-out humor, and it’s very, very poorly done. The movie revolves around a guy named Walter Clydepepper (Vic Dunlop), a fat, broke loser with nothing going for him at all, until he eats an alien for breakfast. 

Wally ain't no pizza-peddler no mo...

Wally ain’t no pizza-peddler no mo…

The alien he consumes changes Walter very profoundly. Instead of the lovable oaf he once was, Walter becomes someone’s idea of funny (though, I’m not really sure whose). So funny, in fact, that he’s a smash-hit at the local comedy club. His rise to fame is a nasty one, complete with drugs, alcohol and women, and ends, predictably, in an Elvis-like tailspin. 

Aside from a short appearance by Donald Gibb of Revenge of the Nerds and Bloodsport fame, Breakfast of Aliens doesn’t really have much to offer. This film is a train wreck that is not worth your time. Of course, I probably didn’t have to tell you that. 

2 Responses to “Breakfast of Aliens (1983)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    April 14, 2013 at 4:16 am

    I’m pretty sure I’ve seen this, although I’m not sure how. I blame my brothers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


