13
Apr
13

Batman (1989)

What are you?

What are you?

In the age of Christian-Bale-via-Christopher-Nolan’s serious, angry, raspy Batman, it is so refreshing to return to the Batman of my youth: the goofy, charming and much-less-raspy Michael-Keaton-via-Tim-Burton Batman. Thanks, once again, to the folks at E Street Cinema and their weekend midnight movies, I was able to view Burton’s Batman on the big screen for the first time.

As far as Batman goes, I’m much-less invested than most; I don’t read the comics, I don’t watch the cartoons. So, my familiarity with the

Whatever a jerk Nicholson might be, I will always love his take on the Joker.

Whatever a jerk Nicholson might be, I will always love his take on the Joker.

superhero started off with, gasp all you want to, Adam West. Needless to say, I don’t take Batman very seriously, which is why I really enjoyed watching Burton’s this time around. Sure, it is dark, and at times maybe even a little scary (if you’re a kid, anyway) but it definitely has a healthy sense of humor about itself, something that is dreadfully absent from Nolan’s.

The best part about this movie, though, is how it looks. Not really a surprise, given it’s Tim Burton before Tim Burton became a parody of Tim Burton (i.e., Tim Burton when he was worth watching). Not as

Batmobile.

Batmobile.

colorful as Beetlejuice, unfortunately (and as Q was quick to point out), but it still looks great, especially the shots of Gotham City, and of course those of Nicholson’s Joker.

Anyway, bla bla bla, it’s Batman. If you haven’t seen it, you’re twelve or weird. I won’t convince you Nolan-lovers that this one’s better, and I’m not interested in doing so. But, it is.

 

 

2 Responses to “Batman (1989)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    April 14, 2013 at 4:18 am

    “you’re twelve or weird”—hahahaha!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


