24
Mar
13

Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)

Who wouldn't?

Who wouldn’t?

Yes, it’s true, up until this past week I’d never seen Raiders of the Lost Ark. Honestly, I was surprised myself; I was sure we’d turn it on and I’d go “oh yeah, of course I’ve seen this!” but it didn’t happen that way. As a kid, my Indiana Jones experience was restricted solely to Temple of Doom. The consensus seems to be that Raiders is far better, but I’m not sure I agree. Then again, it’s been about a million years since I’ve seen Temple of Doom, and most things are better through a kid’s eye, no?

I’m sure you know the story: Indiana Jones is a dreamboat adventure-seeker/archaeologist (?) who’s hired by the government to race the Nazis in a search for the Lost Ark, described in the film as “a radio for speaking to God.”

Ooh! Spoooooky!

Ooh! Spoooooky!

Anyone who has possession of the thing will have, like, crazy-unstoppable power.

The road to the Lost Ark is, of course, loaded with danger, adventure, romance, and much to my delight, one little monkey. Indy gets what he wants, only to lose it and regain it a few times (enough to bring the running time to nearly two hours). It’s a cheesy adventure flick, but who expected anything different? Also, Harrison Ford really is a dreamboat. Shame my archaeology professors never looked like that.

2 Responses to “Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    March 25, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    The other day, I ran into a classmate on the Tube. We were both wearing headphones, and I asked: “What are you listening to?” His answer: “The Raiders of the Lost Ark soundtrack.” As someone who has recently watched this movie, what do you make of that?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


