09
Nov
12

Dracula: Pages from a Virgin’s Diary (2002)

I think it’s safe for me to assume you know the story of Dracula: Transylvania, Harker, Blood, Renfield, impaling, Van Helsing, etc. Guy Maddin’s Dracula: Pages From a Virgin’s Diary includes all of that and so much more!

By “so much more” I mean ballet. I didn’t realize this was a ballet version of Dracula until I heard myself say “I could do without the dancing.” That pretty much sums it up – I did like this, but oy, the dancing.

It is filmed like a silent movie: no dialog, just screens of text. It is mostly black and white, with only splashes of color. You know, for effect. As I’ve already alluded to, the plot is nothing you haven’t seen before, but it is told out of order, putting a different spin on things.

If the idea of a Dracula ballet entices you, definitely watch this. It’s also got a pretty good sense of humor about itself, which is how I got through the thing. Just hard for me to get past the dancing…

1 Response to “Dracula: Pages from a Virgin’s Diary (2002)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    November 10, 2012 at 7:09 am

    I cannot imagine this…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


