10
Oct
12

The Resurrected (1992)

In keeping with a certain private detective/Lovecraft theme, we chose The Resurrected as a follow-up movie (and the fourth in October’s 31 days of horror – yes, I know, I’m a little behind) to Cast a Deadly Spell. It is based on the Lovecraft story The Case of Charles Dexter Ward (which I’ve never read, because I’ve never read any Lovecraft, but as October moves along I’m starting to think I’m going to have to change that).

As so many detective stories start out, a tall, attractive blonde walks into an office (here played by Jane Sibbett, who it dawned on me

What is he building in there?

halfway through the movie is indeed the chick from Herman’s Head — how the hell I pulled that one out of my ass I’ll never know) clutching tissues and whining about some problem or other. Claire Ward’s problem is the cops are after her husband after he’d received some strange shipments to their home. Her husband, Charles (Chris Sarandon, who I am now convinced is always awesome) has disappeared. Mrs. Ward wants to know: where is he? What’s he into? What’s in those large, coffin-shaped boxes?

Eventually it comes out that Charles had recently inherited some strange articles from a long-lost relative, including a portrait of someone that looks a hell of a lot like him. Ever since, he’d been acting strange. Now hot on the trail, private dick John March, along with his assistant Lonnie Peck (Robert Romanus a.k.a. Mike Damone from Fast Times at Ridgemont High!) and Mrs. Ward and  are sucked into a supernatural sideshow with lots of secrets that I’m not about to reveal here.

I am not sure if it’s fair to say this is another fun Lovecraft interpretation, considering (as mentioned above) that I’ve never actually read any Lovecraft, but it is true. I really enjoy most of the film adaptations of his stuff, and even though this doesn’t involve Stuart Gordon, it still reminded me of a Stuart Gordon movie. That’s not to say it’s really goofy, because it’s not – though it has its moments. Perhaps the similar elements are in Lovecraft and I just don’t know it yet. I intend to find out. Regardless, this movie is well-paced, fun and scary with great special effects. And don’t forget Chris Sarandon!

1 Response to “The Resurrected (1992)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    October 12, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    Herman’s Head – yesss! It’s amazing how often I think of that show.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


