08
Sep
12

Parents (1989)

Alone on a Saturday night with nothing but Netflix instant to keep me company, I decided I’d finally watch this movie Parents. A story set in the 1950’s about the perfect family… or are they? A typical David Lynch setting, but this is definitely not a David Lynch movie.

Michael and his parents have moved to a new town, where his father (Randy Quaid) has a well-paying job at the local evil corporation Toxico. While dad’s out practicing his golf swing, Mom’s inside defrosting the “leftovers.” What she’s going to make with them isn’t exactly off the Mid-Century menu. Yes, Michael’s growing curiosity about where his food is coming from

Dinner is people!

and who his parents actually are leads him to the realization that they are cannibals!

I found this movie really confusing. It’s filed under horror/comedy, but I didn’t find it to be much of either. I kept waiting for something just a little more interesting, funny, or frightening to happen to set this movie over the edge – but it didn’t. I’m not sure how I’m supposed to read this movie… is cannibalism supposed to be a metaphor for all the unwanted, uncovered truths about American families in the 1950’s? Is it childhood fantasy? Or is it more straightforward than that? It’s hard to tell. If you ask me, the guy making it had no idea either.

I will say this: the decor is amazing. It’s mid-century to a T! I want that house, that living room, that kitchen! I don’t regret watching this movie just so I could enjoy the scenery. Other than that and an interesting soundtrack (music by Angelo Badalamenti, what a coincidence!) I can’t say this movie had much to offer. If David Lynch made boring movies, maybe this is what they’d look like?

2 Responses to “Parents (1989)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    September 10, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    Toxico — hahahaha!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


