27
Aug
12

Little Murders (1971)

Exuberant, life-loving girl (Patsy) meets apathetic photographer (Alfred). She gets what she wants, he doesn’t care. Amidst the backdrop of a crumbling New York City they marry, and he becomes part of her extremely dysfunctional family.

I forgot to mention Patsy’s unbalanced younger brother.

Really, that’s all I’m gonna say about the plot; you’ll have to watch the rest for yourself. I will say Donald Sutherland’s role as the Reverend who marries them is my favorite part of the film (but when isn’t Mr. Sutherland awesome?). This movie reminded me a lot of something Woody Allen might produce, which I’m told isn’t a surprise coming from its writer Jules Feiffer. The comedy’s a little darker, but the city plays a character of its own; a driving force much like in some of Allen’s earlier stuff. For the first bit of the film, I must admit, Patsy’s shrill crying and Alfred’s utter lack of feeling really bothered me, but luckily things heated up in the middle and, though it puzzled me at first, I think I did like this movie after all.

1 Response to “Little Murders (1971)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    August 28, 2012 at 9:31 am

    Wow – what a teaser! Adding it to my list.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


