07
Aug
12

Teeth (2007)

At this point, I’ve seen Teeth several times, mostly because no one will watch it unless I make them. After all, most people aren’t turned on by the words vagina dentata. I, of course, was intrigued from the start.

I was quite surprised when I first watched it that the movie was actually genuinely good – it wasn’t just leaning on the idea of a girl with a toothed vagina to carry it; it has a story, it has great acting and a smirking sense of humor, it looks wonderful (which I can’t hep but think has something to do with the fact that it’s directed by Roy Lichtenstein’s kid) and it keeps you engaged throughout. Yes, there are some disembodied male parts, but the movie doesn’t rely on gore.

So, yes: the story is about a girl (Dawn) with vagina dentata. Specifically, Dawn is the voice of “The Promise,” a teen-group of abstinence-touting bible-thumpers. Things get weird, though, when Toby moves to town, because he’s sooo dreamy! The only way Dawn can curb her teenage desires is to recite the mantra: “purity, purity!” Well, one thing leads to another and Dawn, along with some unfortunate men, are confronted with her vagina-teeth. Seeing as how this movie closes our supernatural-coming-of-age marathon, you can imagine where it goes from here. Will she ever find the “hero” that can conquer them? Will she ever learn to control them?

Every time I watch this movie, it gets better. I think it might actually be one of my all-time favorites. I wish people weren’t so scared of it and would give it a chance! It’s more than just a gimmick, dangit!

7 Responses to “Teeth (2007)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    August 8, 2012 at 3:42 am

    Am I the only one who thought vagina dentata was a dental dam?

  2. 5 seriously war child.
    August 16, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    I don’t approve of this movie.

    Booty Call on the other hand is approved.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


