24
Jul
12

Rio Bravo (1959)

I’ve only seen a handful of westerns in my day, but most of them I’ve thought worthwhile, so when Rio Bravo was brought to the table I agreed, despite its description as “slow-moving” and it’s 2.5-hour length. I don’t watch a lot of “old-timey” movies, and this is exactly why. The whole time this movie was on, I felt like I was watching a long, gun-slinging episode of The Brady Bunch. Seriously, what’s with the the hammy acting? Even worse, what’s up with this scene? I suppose if you have Dean Martin and Ricky Nelson in a movie together a scene like this is inevitable, but really? I mean, seriously? Wouldn’t Kit Carson or Wyatt Earp or some other such manly western dude throw up if they saw this movie? Additionally, this is the first John Wayne movie I’ve ever seen. He actually talks like that.

I didn’t hate this, let’s just say a movie like this is just not for me.

2 Responses to “Rio Bravo (1959)”


  1. 1 ladyfaceladyface
    July 31, 2012 at 2:28 am

    I’m pretty sure my father made me watch this. All the John Wayne westerns blend together after a while…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Old Wave


